Home » Results »

Mr Olympia Results
Sept. 16-17, 2011
For four days in September, the biggest names in bodybuilding competed to become the 2011 Mr. Olympia. The best bodybuilders in the word gathered in Las Vegas, and fans who gambled on an upset came out richer.

In the weeks leading up to the competition, the biggest event in the sport of bodybuilding, there was much talk about who would offer the most challenge for defending champion Jay Cutler. Relative newcomer Phil Health, known as "the Gift," was included in many fan's predictions, as was Branch Warren, who had won the 2011 Arnold classic.

However, Warren tore a quadriceps tendon while slipping on wet pavement just a month before the competition; it required surgery and took him out of the running. While he attended, he did not compete. Other top contenders included Kai Green, Dexter Jackson, Ronny Rockel, Victor Martinez and Dennis Wolf.

The final moments of the competition were reminiscent of those of the previous year as Phil Heath and Jay Cutler stood awaiting the announcement of the winner. However, once the champion's name was called, the roles were reversed.

Phil "the Gift" Heath, who had taken the second place spot in the previous year's competition, edged out Cutler to take the title of Mr. Olympia 2011. His win was hailed by many as a changing of the guard, and in a heartfelt speech, Cutler proclaimed Heath "the new King." Heath is the 13th man to win the title of Mr. Olympia, and it looks like he may be wearing it for a long time...and wearing it well.

Cutler had won the title four out of the past five years, but Heath's win seemed to signal the end of a bodybuilding era. Heath is considered to still be reaching his prime, and some have predicted that he'll follow in Cutler's footsteps to become an Olympia champion many times over.

Other finishers at the 2011 Mr. Olympia included Kai Greene, who was compared to Heath and came in third, and Victor Martinez, who displayed notable improvement and came in fourth. Dennis Wolf and Dexter "The Blade" Jackson filled out spots five and six.

What gave Heath an edge in becoming Mr. Olympia 2011? Simply, it was what some are calling "one of the greatest physiques ever." Some even called his body "cartoonish." His proportion and separation were also cited as stellar. If there was any question in anyone's mind about Heath being a rising star, it's was settled: Heath is a star and he still rising.

Heath took home the Sandow trophy as well as $200,000 in prize money, and many have a feeling that this could become a habit. The 2011 Mr. Olympia may have marked the end of Jay Cutler's reign over this contest of contests.
1 Phil Heath  USA
2 Jay Cutler  USA
3 Kai Greene USA
4 Victor Martinez Dominican Republic
5 Dennis Wolf  Germany
6 Dexter Jackson USA
7 Toney "The X-Man" Freeman Trinidad & Tobago
8 Brandon Curry  USA
9 Ronny Rockel Germany
10 Hidetada Yamagishi  Japan
11 Shawn Roden  USA
12 Edward Nunnnbsp; USA
13 Johnny Jackson  USA
14 Marius Dohne  South Africa
15 Craig Richardson  USA
16 Frank McGrath  Canada


  Contact Us

Unless otherwise stated, all photographs and content copyright 1999-2012.